Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

2017–2018 Annual Report

​​​​Clear Perspectives on Substance Use and Addiction

​During the 2017–2018 fiscal year, CCSA went to great lengths to gather and share as many perspectives as possible in the national dialogue about substance use. Whether they came from Canadian youth, the aging population​, researchers or people with experience of addiction, CCSA listened. These perspectives enabled CCSA to identify and address specific areas of need. The 2017–2018 annual report​ highlights the results of these efforts and emphasizes the challenges for our immediate future. 

Youth and Cannabis ​

To learn more about how to speak to Canadian youth about cannabis, we invited young Canadians to a series of workshops to determine, among other things, what they value in conversations with adults. We learned ​that youth value credible, honest, open-minded, non-judgmental and respectful dialogue when talking about cannabis.

This work led to collaborating with youth allies to create tools to support these healthy conversations. The cannabis communication guide provides evidence-based information on cannabis and youth, but it focuses on preparing for and conducting a successful discussion with a young person.​

The Opioid Challenge​

​Canada is not alone in ​ ​confronting the toll of opioid addiction. To promote learning and sharing experiences in response to the opioid crisis, CCSA co-hosted an expert forum with the United States Embassy in Ottawa. We brought together Canadian and U.S. experts in prevention, harm reduction, treatment and enforcement to discuss current initiatives, lessons learned and opportunities for joint action. These perspectives built on initiatives currently underway and helped identify new opportunities.​

​Life in Recovery

The perspective of people in recovery is powerful. More than 850 people living in recovery from addiction took part in Canada's first-ever national recovery survey. The final report, Life in Recovery from Addiction in Canada, highlights the promise of recovery while emphasizing the many challenges people tackle along the journey. CCSA designed a communications toolkit to guide how to share the survey findings and stimulate public discussion about recovery to help create new ​perspectives.

As we move into the 2018–2019 fiscal year, CCSA will continue to value perspectives. Those instilled with the knowledge and passion to address substance issues make an impact and will be instrumental as we move forward with our mandate.

Perspective counts.
Perspective makes an impact.
Perspective is invaluable to the work we do.​​

​​ 

View annual reports from previous years:
​2​016-2017 ​Real Need – Real Action​​​ ​​
2​015–2016 ​Deliver Results for Canadians ​​​ ​
2014–2015 ​Addiction M​​atters​​​​ ​
2013–2014 ​Clarity of Action​​​   ​

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Rapport annuel 2017–2018

​​​​Points de vue clairs sur les dépendances et l’usage de substances

​Pendant l’année financière 2017-2018, le CCDUS a tout mis en œuvre pour recueillir et échanger le plus de points de vue possible et les intégrer au dialogue national entourant l’usage de substances. Ces divers points de vue – ceux de jeunes Canadiens, de personnes âgées​, de chercheurs et de personnes ayant une expérience de la dépendance – le CCDUS les a bien entendus, et ils l’ont aidé à cerner les besoins et à y répondre. Le rapport annuel 2017-2018​ présente les résultats de ces activités et certains défis pour notre avenir immédiat.

Les jeunes et le cannabis ​

Nous voulions savoir comment parler de cannabis aux jeunes Canadiens. Alors nous les avons invités à participer à des ateliers pour qu’ils nous disent, entre autres, ce qu’ils apprécient dans leurs conversations avec les adultes. Ce que nous avons appris, c’est qu’en matière de cannabis, les jeunes préfèrent avoir des dialogues crédibles, honnêtes, ouverts, respectueux et exempts de jugement.​

Au terme de ces ateliers, nous avons créé, en collaboration avec des alliés des jeunes, des outils visant à faciliter ces conversations positives. Le Guide de communication sur le cannabis fournit de l’information factuelle sur le cannabis et les jeunes et donne des conseils sur la façon de se préparer à avoir une discussion réussie avec un jeune.​​

Le défi que posent les opioïdes ​

​Le Canada n’est pas le seul pays confronté aux conséquences de la dépendance aux opioïdes. C’est donc pour favoriser l’apprentissage et l’échange d’expériences sur la crise des opioïdes que le CCDUS a tenu un forum d’experts avec l’ambassade des États-Unis à Ottawa. Nous avons réuni des experts canadiens et américains de la prévention, de la réduction des méfaits, du traitement et de l’application de la loi. Ils ont parlé de projets en cours, de leçons tirées et de possibles interventions concertées. Inspirés des projets déjà engagés, ces points de vue nous ont ouvert de nouvelles perspectives.​

La vie en rétablissement

Le point de vue des personnes en rétablissement est fort. Plus de 850 personnes en rétablissement d’une dépendance ont participé au tout premier sondage national sur le sujet. Le rapport La vie en rétablissement de la toxicomanie au Canada montre que le rétablissement est possible, tout en attirant l’attention sur les nombreuses difficultés rencontrées pendant ce cheminement. Le CCDUS a mis au point une trousse d’outils de communication​ pour aider les intervenants à diffuser les conclusions du sondage et à susciter la discussion sur le rétablissement et, ainsi, à créer de nouveaux points de vue.

Au cours de l’année 2018-2019, le CCDUS entend continuer à tenir compte des divers points de vue. Car les points de vue inspirés du savoir et de la passion de résoudre les problèmes liés à l’usage de substances sont porteurs et essentiels à la réalisation de notre mandat.

Les points de vue comptent. Ils peuvent changer les choses et sont inestimables dans notre travail.

​​ 

Consulter les rapports des années précédentes :

2016–2017 ​Besoins réels – Mesures concrètes​​​​ ​
2015–2016 ​Fournir des résultats aux Canadiens​​​ ​
2014–2015 ​La dépendance, ça compte​​​ ​
2013–2014 ​Clarté de l'action​​​​