Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Drinking Guidelines

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines help Canadians moderate their alcohol consumption and reduce their immediate and long-term alcohol-related harm.

The Guidelines recommend no more than two drinks a day, 10 per week for women, and three drinks a day, 15 per week for men, with an extra drink allowed on special occasions. ​

View the guidelines 

View the guidelines

These Guidelines make a difference!

If all Canadians who consume alcohol were to follow the proposed guidelines, there would be approximately 4,600 less alcohol-related deaths per year​ (Alcohol and Health in Canada: A Summary of Evidence and Guidelines for Low-Risk Drinking. p. 9).

Spread the Word with the Communications Toolkit

The LRDG Communications Toolki​t aims at increasing awareness and starting public discussions about drinking in moderation. The communications toolkit provides the resources necessary to share the important messages about drinking in moderation through numerous platforms. You are encouraged to​ share these resources with your family, friends, staff, colleagues, clients, and others in the community to help get the conversation started.

Developing the Guidelines

A team of independent Canadian and international experts developed Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines on behalf of the ​National Alcohol Strategy Advisory Committee (NASAC). The Guidelines are a key component of the National Alcohol Strategy. ​They are informed by the technical report, Alcohol and Health in Canada: A Summary of Evidence and Guidelines for Low Risk Drinking.

Additional Resources

In addition to the LRDG Communications Toolkit, see our featured publications sidebar for materials you can use to support awareness campaigns in your community for Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines.

For permission to print multiple copies of the featured publications or to add your organization's logo and URL to the Guidelines brochure or poster, please complete the copyright permission form.

​Summaries of Guidelines for Specific Populations and Issues

This group has also produced targeted resources about the impact of alcohol on women​ and youth, and the relationship between alcohol and cancer as wel​l as other chronic illnesses​.​

Also, ​view the Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral online resource to guide health ​​professionals in detecting and addressing harmful alcohol consumption among patients.​

Pledge Your Support and Join the Cause ​

The Guidelines have ​the support of ​provincial and territorial health ministers, as well as many respected Canadian health organizations. View official supporters.

If your organization would like to apply to become an official supporter of the Guidelines, please email us at alcohol@ccsa.ca.​

​​

More information ​

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Directives sur la consommation d'alcool

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Les Directives de consommation d'alcool à faible risque du Canada aident les Canadiens à modérer leur consommation d'alcool et à réduire les méfaits de l'alcool pour leur santé à court et à long terme.

Les directives recommandent au plus 2 verres par jour ou 10 verres par semaine pour les femmes, et au plus 3 verres par jour ou 15 verres par semaine pour les hommes, avec éventuellement un verre de plus lors d'occasions spéciales. ​

 

Consulter les directives

Ces directives peuvent avoir des effets positifs!

Si tous les Canadiens qui boivent suivaient les directives proposées, on estime que le nombre de décès liés à l’alcool diminuerait d’environ 4600 par année​ (L'alcool et la santé au Canada : résume des données probantes et directives de consommation à faible risque, p. 9).

Passer le mot avec la trousse d’outils de communication ​

La trousse d​’outils de communication sur les directives permettra de sensibiliser le public et d’amorcer des discussions sur la consommation modérée. La trousse propose des ressources, en formats divers, pour aborder la question de la consommation modérée. Nous vous invitons à montrer ces ressources aux membres de votre famille, à vos amis, employés, collègues et clients et aux autres personnes de votre entourage pour lancer la conversation.

Autres ressources

Outre la trousse d’outils de communication, vous pouvez parcourir les ressources proposées dans la barre latérale et les utiliser pour des campagnes de sensibilisation dans votre communauté sur les Directives de consommation d’alcool à faible risque du Canada.​

Pour obtenir l’autorisation d’imprimer de nombreux exemplaires des ressources mentionnées ou d’ajouter le logo et l’hyperlien de votre organisation à la brochure ou à l’affiche des directives, veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande d'affranchissement de droit d'auteur.

Élaboration des directives ​

Les directives ont été élaborées par une équipe d’experts nationaux et internationaux indépendants, au nom du ​Comité consultatif sur la Stratégie nationale sur l'alcool (CCSNA). Les directives sont un élément clé de la Stratégie nationale sur l'alcool et sont fondées sur le rapport technique ​L'alcool et la santé au Canada : résumé des données probantes et directives de consommation à faible risque.

Sommaires pour des populations et situations particulières​

Ce groupe a également produit des ressources ciblées sur les effets de l'alcool sur les femmes​ et les jeunes, ainsi que sur le lien entre l'alcool et le cancer et d’autres maladies chroniques​.

Consultez également la ressource en ligne Dépistage, intervention brève et orientation, un guide clinique qui aide les professionnels de la santé à dépister la consommation dangereuse d'alcool de leurs patients et à y remédier.​

​Appui aux Directives de consommation d'alcool à faible risque du Canada

Les directives ont reçu l'appui de ministres ​provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et de nombreux organismes de santé canadiens respectés. Consultez la liste des supporteurs officiels.

Si votre organisme souhaite devenir un supporteur officiel des directives, écrivez à alcool@ccsa.ca.

Pour en savoir plus​