Print Header

National Alcohol Strategy Advisory Committee

​​​The National Alcohol Strategy Advisory Committee (NASAC) was formed in 2008:

  • To lead the implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the national alcohol strategy;:

  • To increase awareness of Canadians on matters relating to alcohol abuse; and:

  • To reduce harm associated with alcohol abuse.:

NASAC members include participants with expertise in alcohol-related issues from all levels of government, non-governmental organizations, First Nations, Inuit and Métis service providers, and the alcohol industry.

Members consult each other on alcohol-related research and initiatives and gather every year for an annual meeting to evaluate the progress and impact of Canada’s national alcohol strategy.

NASAC members

Member Title Organization
Peter ButtAssociate ProfessorUniversity of Saskatchewan;
College of Family Physicians of Canada
Laura BeverleyExecutive Director of Addiction and Mental Health with Primary and Community CareAlberta Health Services
Frank CesaManager, Substance Abuse PolicyHealth Canada
Deane ChafeAddiction Specialist
Canadian Forces Health Services Group
Jim Cincotta Senior Policy AdvisorInuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Carolyn DavisonDirector, Addiction ServicesNova Scotia Department of Health and Wellness
Denise DePape Director, Alcohol Harm ReductionBritish Columbia Ministry of Health
Rowland Dunning Executive DirectorCanadian Association of Liquor Jurisdictions
Margaret Gillis DirectorPublic Health Agency of Canada
Louis Gliksman Consultant 
Luke Harford President Beer Canada (formerly Brewers Association of Canada)
Carol Hopkins Executive DirectorNational Native Addictions Partnership Foundation
Holly MacKay Team Lead, FASD Initiative Public Health Agency of Canada
Shannon McInnes Senior Policy AnalystAlberta Health and Wellness
Chief Mark Mander Chair, Drug Abuse CommitteeCanadian Association of Chiefs of Police
Heather Manson Chief, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Public Health Ontario
Andrew Murie Chief Executive OfficerMADD Canada
Louise Nadeau Full ProfessorUniversité de Montréal
Rita NotarandreaChief Executive Officer CCSA
Dan Paszkowski PresidentCanadian Vintners Association
Greg Penney Director, National ProgramsCanadian Public Health Association
Dr. Jürgen Rehm Director,
Social and Epidemiological Research Department
Center for Addiction and Mental Health
Ben Rempel Health Promotion Field Support SpecialistPublic Health Ontario
Hubert Sacy Director General Éduc'alcool
Tim Stockwell Director Centre for Addictions Research of BC
Dr. Robert Strang Chief Public Health Officer Council of Chief Medical Officers of Health
Gerald Thomas Director, Alcohol & Gambling Policy, Population & Public Health Division BC Ministry of Health​
Jan Westcott President and
Chief Executive Officer
Spirits Canada – Association of Canadian Distillers

For information about NASAC, please email

Related Topics