Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Drinking Guidelines

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines (LRDG) help Canadians moderate their alcohol consumption and reduce their immediate and long-term alcohol-related harm.

The Guidelines recommend no more than two drinks a day, 10 per week for women, and three drinks a day, 15 per week for men, with an extra drink allowed on special occasions. ​

View the guidelines 

View the guidelines

If all Canadian drinkers were drinking alcohol within the proposed guidelines, it is estimated that alcohol-related deaths would be reduced by approximately 4,600 per year (Alcohol and Health in Canada: A Summary of Evidence and Guidelines for Low-Risk Drinking. p. 9).

Developing the Guidelines

Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines were developed by a team of independent Canadian and international experts on behalf of the National Alcohol Strategy Advisory Committee (NASAC). The Guidelines are a key component of the National Alcohol Strategy and were informed by the technical report, Alcohol and Health in Canada: A Summary of Evidence and Guidelines for Low Risk Drinking.

Summaries of Guidelines for Specific Populations and Issues

This group has also produced targeted resources about the impact of alcohol on women​ and youth, and the relationship between alcohol and cancer.

Promoting the Guidelines

See our featured resources sidebar for materials you can use to support awareness campaigns in your community.

For permission to print multiple copies of the Guidelines resources, or to add your organization's logo and URL to the Guidelines brochure or poster, please complete the Application for Copyright Permission form.

Supporting Canada's Low-Risk Alcohol Drinking Guidelines

The Guidelines have received the support of ​provincial and territorial health ministers, as well as many respected Canadian health organizations. View official supporters.

If your organization would like to apply to become an official supporter of the Guidelines, please email us at alcohol@ccsa.ca. Also view the Screening, Brief Intervention and Referral online resource to guide health professionals in detecting and addressing harmful alcohol consumption among patients.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Directives sur la consommation d'alcool

​​​​​​​​​​​​​Les Directives de consommation d'alcool à faible risque (DCAFR) du Canada aident les Canadiens à modérer leur consommation d'alcool et à réduire les méfaits de l'alcool pour leur santé à court et à long terme.

Les directives recommandent au plus 2 verres par jour ou 10 verres par semaine pour les femmes, et au plus 3 verres par jour ou 15 verres par semaine pour les hommes, avec éventuellement un verre de plus lors d'occasions spéciales. ​

 

Consulter les directives

Si tous les Canadiens buvaient selon les directives proposées, on estime que le nombre de décès liés à l'alcool diminuerait d'environ 4 600 par année (L'alcool et la santé au Canada : résume des données probantes et directives de consommation à faible risque, p. 9).

Élaboration des directives

Les directives ont été élaborées par une équipe d'experts nationaux et internationaux indépendants, au nom du Comité consultatif sur la Stratégie nationale sur l'alcool (CCSNA). Les directives sont un élément clé de la Stratégie nationale sur l'alcool et sont fondées en partie sur le rapport technique L'alcool et la santé au Canada : résumé des données probantes et directives de consommation à faible risque.

Résumés liés aux directives axés sur des populations et des enjeux spécifiques

Ce groupe a également produit des ressources ciblées sur les effets de l'alcool sur les femmes​ et les jeunes, ainsi que sur le lien entre l'alcool et le cancer et d’autres maladies chroniques​.

Consultez également la ressource en ligne Dépistage, intervention brève et orientation, un guide clinique qui aide les professionnels de la santé à dépister la consommation dangereuse d'alcool de leurs patients et à y remédier.​

Promotion des directives

Parcourez les ressources proposées dans la barre latérale; vous pouvez les utiliser pour des campagnes de sensibilisation dans votre communauté.

Pour obtenir l’autorisation d’imprimer de nombreux exemplaires des ressources liées aux directives ou d’ajouter le logo et l’hyperlien de votre organisation à la brochure ou à l’affiche des directives, veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande d'affranchissement de droit d'auteur.

Appui aux Directives de consommation d'alcool à faible risque du Canada

Les directives ont reçu l'appui de ministres ​provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et de nombreux organismes de santé canadiens respectés. Consultez la liste des supporteurs officiels.

Si votre organisme souhaite devenir un supporteur officiel des directives, écrivez à alcool@ccsa.ca.

Sujets connexes