Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Workplace

​​​​​Addressing substance use affecting the workplace

CCSA works with partners, employers and representatives from both public and private sectors to identify current needs and emerging issues related to the effects of substance use affecting the workplace. More recent concerns about the regulation and legalization of non-medical cannabis in Canada have prompted employers and other stakeholders to consider how to address substance use through effective and appropriate workplace policies and practices. CCSA’s research has identified the following considerations for employers:

  • Addressing substance use issues through a comprehensive, well-developed policy sends the message that substance use and its potential ramifications are important within an organization. Not having a policy might indicate that substance use is not a concern or is even tolerated, which could increase workplace risks.

  • Workplace substance use policies, especially those related to supportive and disciplinary measures, must balance employee and employer needs. This balance includes meeting human rights and other legal standards, as well as incorporating in policies such considerations as prevention and accommodation.

  • Workplace culture and employee commitment to recovery are critical to reducing substance use affecting the workplace. Policies and best practices will be most effective in an environment that discourages substance use, but also discourages discrimination, stigma and potential prejudice.

A review of workplace substance use policies in Canada

CCSA’s report, A Review of Workplace Substance Use Policies in Canada, breaks new ground. Based on surveys and interviews with Canadian employers, the report highlights lessons learned and best practices of existing policies, and portrays how employers approach substance use affecting the workplace.

Start the Conversation

Produced by CCSA, the Mental Health Commission of Canada and the Conference Board of Canada, Start the Conversation contains statistics, risk factors and tips for starting the conversation on this important issue.

To learn more, please contact: workplace@ccsa.ca.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Milieu de travail

​​Aborder les effets de la consommation de substances sur le milieu de travail

Le CCDUS collabore avec des partenaires, des employeurs et des représentants du secteur public et du secteur privé pour définir les besoins et les nouvelles difficultés quant aux effets de la consommation de substances sur le milieu de travail. Récemment, des réserves concernant la réglementation et la légalisation du cannabis non médical au Canada ont incité les employeurs et d’autres intervenants à réfléchir à la façon d’aborder la consommation de substances dans des politiques et pratiques efficaces et adéquates. Une étude menée par le CCDUS fait ressortir quelques mesures que les employeurs pourraient appliquer :

  • La mise en œuvre de politiques globales et bien élaborées sur la consommation de substances indique que ce problème et ses conséquences possibles sont d’importantes préoccupations au sein d’une organisation. L’absence de telles politiques laisse entendre que la consommation de substances n’est pas une préoccupation et est même tolérée, ce qui peut augmenter les risques en milieu de travail.

  • Les dispositions des politiques sur la consommation de substances en milieu de travail, en particulier celles sur les mesures disciplinaires et les mesures de soutien, doivent tenir compte des besoins des employeurs et des employés. Cet équilibre est notamment atteint quand les droits de la personne et les autres exigences légales sont respectés et quand les politiques prévoient des mesures de prévention et d’adaptation.

  • La culture de travail et l’engagement de l’employé à se rétablir sont des facteurs critiques pour réduire la consommation de substances qui affecte le milieu de travail. Par ailleurs, les politiques et pratiques exemplaires seront plus efficaces dans un milieu qui décourage la consommation de substances, mais aussi la discrimination, la stigmatisation et les préjugés possibles.

Examen des politiques sur la consommation de substances en milieu de travail au Canada

Le rapport Examen des politiques sur la consommation de substances en milieu de travail au Canada du CCDUS ouvre de nouvelles perspectives. Il repose sur des sondages et des entrevues avec des employeurs canadiens, présente les leçons apprises et pratiques exemplaires extraites des politiques existantes et décrit les répercussions sur le milieu de travail de l’approche que choisit un employeur.

Entamer la conversation

Le CCDUS​, la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada et le Conference Board du Canada ont réalisé cette publication, laquelle comprend des statistiques, des facteurs de risque et des conseils pour entamer la conversation sur cet enjeu important.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez envoyer un courriel à milieudetravail@ccsa.ca.