Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Board of Directors

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CCSA reports annually to Parliament and the provincial and territorial legislatures and is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors that meets three to four times a year. The Board is composed of 13 members. The Chair and four of those members are appointed by the Governor in Council. Other directors, known as members-at-large, are recruited from a number of sectors, including the business community, labour groups, and professional and voluntary organizations. Board members serve a three-year term, which may be extended up to two additional terms.​​​​

Join us

CCSA encourages those interested in joining our Board of Directors to visit this page frequently. All Board of Director openings and associated links and applications forms will be available here. For more timely updates on vacancies, consider subscribing to our Addiction News Daily newsletter.

 
     

Members-at-Large:

Ex-Officio Board Members:

Board Alumni:

 
     

Gary Bass (British Columbia)

Gary Bass

Gary Bass spent over 39 years in the Royal Canadian Mounted Police at a variety of locations across Canada. He retired in May 2011 as the Deputy Commissioner for Canada West, which included the three northern territories, the prairie provinces and British Columbia. Prior to that, he was the Commanding Officer for "E" Division RCMP (BC) and Deputy Commissioner for Pacific Region, BC and the Yukon.

Before moving to senior management positions in the RCMP, Mr. Bass spent most of his career involved in major crimes, terrorism and organized crime investigations. Since retiring from the RCMP, he has been working at the Institute for Canadian Urban Research Studies at Simon Fraser University as a Senior Research Fellow with interests in policing and related criminal justice issues.

Mr. Bass is a member of the Board of Governors of Commissionaires BC and of the Board of Directors of the Vision Quest Recovery Society. He is currently serving on the Premier of British Columbia's Blue Ribbon Panel for Crime Reduction, which will be making recommendations to the Premier next year on changes to the criminal justice system in British Columbia.

Mr. Bass has been a member of the Board since 2013 and serves on the Finance Committee

Dr. Jean-François Boivin (Quebec)

Jean-François Boivin

Dr. Jean-François Boivin is a Full Professor in the Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Occupational Health of McGill University. He is also a consultant in infectious diseases at the Department of Public Health, Montréal General Hospital, and a staff investigator with the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies, Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital. Dr. Boivin has conducted epidemiologic research in a number of domains, including screening, health services organization, the health of street youth, drug injection practices and infections, and drug injection behaviours.

Dr. Boivin has served on numerous scientific and professional committees and boards, including the Advisory Board of the Institute of Health Services and Policy Research of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Scientific Council of the Institut de recherché en santé et sécurité du travail du Québec, the Scientific Council of the Mutuelle générale de l'éducation nationale (France), and the Québec Regional Advisory Committee of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Dr. Boivin holds a medical degree from Laval University (Québec, 1973) and a doctoral degree in epidemiology from Harvard University (1981). He completed a medical specialty in community medicine at the Université de Montréal (1990).

Dr. Boivin has been a member of the CCSA Board since 2009 and serves as Treasurer. He also serves as the Chair of the Finance Committee and is a member of the Executive Committee.​

​​Lesley Carberry (Yukon)

Lesley Carberry

Lesley Carberry (retired) shares her time with her adult sons living with pre-natal alcohol exposure, volunteering in her community and running a small consulting company that undertakes work in strategic planning, governance and training. She serves as secretary–treasurer for the Teegatha’Oh Zheh Society, is a parent member of the FASD 10-Year Strategic Planning Group, and is involved with numerous community organizations.

Ms. Carberry’s combined experience in consulting and positions with the Yukon government Department of Justice spans more than four decades. Recognized for her work in restorative practices, facilitation and conflict resolution, she has led various initiatives in victim services, community justice, crime prevention and policing, with a focus on First Nations and rural communities.

She is the recipient of distinguished awards for performance from the Yukon Department of Justice and the Premier’s Award of Excellence, and was honoured with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Award in 2012. Ms. Carberry completed the course work required for a Master’s degree in Social Work (University of Northern British Columbia) and holds a Bachelor of Social Work (University of Regina) and Bachelor of Arts (University of Manitoba). She is currently pursuing a graduate certificate in restorative practices through the International Institute for Restorative Practices.

Ms. Carberry joined the Board in January, 2017, and serves on the Finance Committee.​

​Linda Dabros (Ontario)

Linda Dabros

Linda Dabros brings more than 25 years of public-sector experience in strategic planning, policy and regulations development, human and financial resource management, and multi-sectoral consultations working with federal, provincial and territorial committees, and international delegations to her board position with CCSA.

As the former director general with the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC), Ms. Dabros set strategic goals and managed the Commission’s research, policy and international programs, leading a team that prepared reports to Parliament and submissions to United Nations treaty bodies. Key priorities were addressing issues facing Indigenous peoples and engaging stakeholders at the national and community levels.​

Prior to her work with CHRC, Ms. Dabros held executive positions with Health Canada (Canada’s Drug Strategy), the National Crime Prevention Centre (research, consultation and social policy development with federal, provincial and territorial governments, academia and NGOs) and the Privy Council Office. Ms. Dabros serves as a volunteer on the management committee of Arteast, a not-for-profit organization that promotes visual arts in Eastern Ontario. She has a Bachelor of Arts (Psychology) from Carleton University.

Ms. Dabros joined the Board in January, 2017, and serves on the Nominations and Governance Committee.​

​​Deborah Dumoulin, CPA, CA ​(Quebec)

Deborah Dumoulin

Deborah Dumoulin is a business leader and practicing Chartered Professional Accountant. Ms. Dumoulin brings over 18 years’ experience in audit and assurance at PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada, most recently as Partner, Audit and Assurance, at their Montreal office, leading a portfolio of public and private clients. She has diverse industry experience in the financial services, technology, manufacturing and non-profit sectors, and in government. She brings significant expertise in accounting, financial reporting, and governance and risk management practices. Ms. Dumoulin is currently providing management consulting services to a Canadian bank.

Ms. Dumoulin strongly believes in giving back to the community and is passionate about social issues. She is an active member of the Quebec Advisory Board for the Salvation Army and the Quebec Council for the Girl Guides of Canada. She has presented at numerous professional conferences. She has led several women in leadership initiatives, co-chaired fundraising events and participated in volunteer activities aimed at empowering and connecting people to make a difference in their local communities.

Ms. Dumoulin is a member of l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec and the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours in Accounting) from the University of Ottawa.

Ms. Dumoulin has been a member of the Board since 2015 and serves on the Finance Committee.

Audrey McFarlane (Alberta)

Audrey McFarlane

Audrey McFarlane is a founder and the Executive Director for the Lakeland Centre for Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) in Cold Lake, Alberta. She also serves as the Chair of the Board of Directors for the Canada FASD Research Network (CanFASD), a national research network linking researchers, service providers, government and families.

Ms. McFarlane holds a degree in Community Rehabilitation, and has dedicated the past 20 years to working with children and adults with developmental disabilities and providing training on FASD. She developed the first adult FASD diagnostic and assessment clinic in Canada, the first training curriculum and manual for Canadian FASD diagnostic assessment clinics, and the only residential alcohol and drug treatment program for pregnant women in Alberta.

Ms. McFarlane’s duties at the Lakeland Centre have included developing a rural, community-based model for FASD diagnostic services for children and adults, a rural-based mentorship program for high-risk women, and best practice models for working with families who are affected by FASD. Her work has been published in the Canadian Journal of Clinical Pharmacology and the Canadian Journal of Rural Medicine.

The models of rural service delivery for individuals with FASD and their families developed by Ms. McFarlane and the Lakeland Centre have been recognized as best practices by all levels of government.

Ms. McFarlane has been a member of the Board since 2014 and serves as a member of the Nominations and Governance Committee and Finance Committee.​

Michael Prospero, B.Ed, M.A. (Ontario)

Michael Prospero

Michael Prospero is the former Superintendent of Education for the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board. This position included responsibility for providing innovative leadership and administrative efficiency for 16 elementary schools and three secondary schools. Other responsibilities included Safe Schools, Health and Safety Program and Special Education

Until his retirement in 2010, Mr. Prospero was involved in education for 34 years as a teacher, Vice-Principal, Principal and Superintendent.

He has a B.A. from the University of Toronto, a B.Ed. from York University and a Master's Degree in Education from Niagara University.

Mr. Prospero has been a member of the CCSA Board since 2009 and serves as the Chair of the Audit Committee, and a member of the Executive and Nominations and Governance Committee.

Paula Tyler (Alberta)

Paula Tyler

Paula Tyler has had a long and distinguished career in the field of human services. Paula retired as the President of the Norlien Foundation in 2014​. Previously, Paula was Vice President, Child and Women's Health and Specialized Clinical Services for the Calgary Health Region. Prior to this, she served as Vice President and CEO, Mental Health at Capital Health in Edmonton, Alberta. Her other professional experience includes the position of Chief Executive, Child Youth and Family Services for the Government of New Zealand and Deputy Minister for Alberta Children's Services. Ms. Tyler has also held several other senior executive positions with the Alberta Government including Deputy Commissioner for Children's Services and Assistant Deputy Minister for Alberta Family and Social Services. As well, Ms. Tyler has been active in community volunteer work; she is a member of the Board of Directors for the Calgary YMCA and has served in a number of senior volunteer roles locally, provincially and nationally in the area of disabilities.

Ms. Tyler has been a member of the CCSA Board since 2009 and serves as the Vice-Chair, Chair of the Nominations and Governance Committee and is a member of the Executive Committee.


Ex-Officio Board Members​

Rita Notarandrea, M.H.Sc., C.H.E.​

Rita Notarandrea

Rita Notarandrea was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction (CCSA) through a Governor-in-Council appointment on July 28, 2015. Ms. Notarandrea works with all levels of government as well as the not-for-profit and private sectors to ensure that addiction is recognized as a health issue, that it remains on the national agenda for action and that collective efforts are galvanized to reduce alcohol- and drug-related harms on the health of Canadians.

Before being appointed CEO, Ms. Notarandrea held the position of interim CEO for a 10-month period, and that of Deputy CEO for eight years. As the Deputy CEO, Ms. Notarandrea was accountable for the overall operations of CCSA. This position entailed establishing strategic and operational goals and ensuring that CCSA remained responsive to environmental trends and had the strategies and processes in place to deliver on the mission and vision of the organization and to assess performance and achievements.

Under Ms. Notarandrea's leadership, CCSA has led many first-ever national initiatives, including an overarching action plan on problematic substance use. During her tenure, CCSA has developed national strategies for mitigating the harms of alcohol, for professionals working in the field and for youth drug use prevention. These strategies represent new ways of thinking and working together to deliver practical and tangible results for Canadians, harnessing collective action for collective impact

Prior to joining CCSA, Ms. Notarandrea enjoyed more than 22 years of leadership success in the healthcare sector. She held a number of senior positions with major health service organizations, such as the Royal Ottawa Hospital, a 207-bed psychiatric hospital, where she was Chief Operating Officer. Her expertise lies in moving from strategy to action, and her accomplishments in this area relate to her leadership role in innovative approaches such as developing and implementing an innovative long-term care facility targeted specifically at those with mental illness; redeveloping the hospital through a public–private partnership; and developing new programs and services related to a renewed vision for the hospital.

Currently, Ms. Notarandrea serves as a member of the Mental Health and Addictions Technical Committee of the Health Standards Organization and of the Clerk of the Privy Council's Contact Group on Mental Health. She also participates on the expert committee implementing international standards for the treatment of drug use disorders at the World Health Organization. She holds an Honours B.A. in Psychology from Carleton University and a Masters in Health Sciences from the University of Toronto. She also holds a Certified Health Executive designation from the Canadian College of Health Leaders.

Simon Kennedy​

Simon Kennedy, Deputy Minister, Health Canada

Malcolm Brown

Malcolm Brown, ​Deputy Minister, Public Safety Canada.

Print Header
www.ccsa.ca

Conseil d’administration du CCDUS

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Le CCDUS présente un rapport annuel au Parlement et aux assemblées législatives provinciales et territoriales et est régi par un conseil d'administratio​n bénévole qui se réunit de trois à quatre fois par année. Le conseil se compose de 13 membres. Le président et quatre des membres sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. Le recrutement des autres membres, appelés membres de la communauté, se fait à partir d'un certain nombre de secteurs, notamment le milieu des affaires, les groupes ouvriers, et les organismes professionnels et bénévoles. Le mandat des membres est d'une durée de trois ans et peut être prolongé jusqu'à deux mandats supplémentaires.​​​

Devenez membre

Le CCDUS invite les personnes intéressées à siéger à son conseil d’administration à consulter cette page régulièrement. Elles y trouveront de l’information sur les postes à pourvoir, ainsi que les liens et formulaires de candidature nécessaires. Pour être avisés rapidement des postes vacants, nous vous invitons à vous abonner à notre infolettre Toxicomanie au quotidien.

 

Membres de la communauté :

Membres du conseil nommés d'office :

Anciens du conseil :

 

Gary Bass (Colombie-Britannique)

Gary Bass

Gary Bass a passé 39 ans au service de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada dans plusieurs régions du Canada. En mai 2011, il a pris sa retraite comme sous-commissaire de la GRC pour l'Ouest du Canada, ce qui regroupait les trois territoires du Nord, les provinces des Prairies et la Colombie-Britannique. Avant cela, il était commandant de la Division E, GRC (Colombie-Britannique) et sous-commissaire de la Région du Pacifique (Colombie-Britannique et Territoire du Yukon).

Avant d'accéder aux postes de cadre supérieur au sein de la GRC, pendant la plus grande partie de sa carrière, M. Bass participé à  des enquêtes majeures liées au crime, au terrorisme et au crime organisé. Depuis sa retraite de la GRC, il travaille comme agrégé supérieur de recherche à l'Institute for Canadian Urban Research Studies de l'Université Simon Fraser, s'intéressant aux services de police et aux questions de justice pénale connexes.

M. Bass est membre du conseil des gouverneurs de Commissionnaires C.-B. et du conseil d'administration de la Vision Quest Recovery Society. Il fait actuellement partie du groupe d'experts du premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique sur la réduction de la criminalité. L'année prochaine, ce groupe présentera des recommandations au premier ministre sur des changements à apporter au système de justice pénale de la Colombie-Britannique.

M. Bass siège au conseil depuis 2013, ainsi qu’au comité des finances.

Dr Jean-François Boivin (Québec)

Jean-François Boivin

Le Dr Jean-François Boivin est professeur titulaire au Département d'épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de santé au travail de l'Université McGill. Il est aussi médecin conseil en maladies infectieuses à la Direction de la santé publique de l'Hôpital général de Montréal et chercheur senior au Centre d'épidémiologie clinique et de recherche en santé publique de l'Hôpital général juif Sir Mortimer B. Davis. Ses recherches épidémiologiques portent sur de nombreux domaines, dont le dépistage, l'organisation des services de santé, la santé des jeunes de la rue ainsi que les pratiques, infections et comportements en lien avec l'injection de drogues.

Le Dr Boivin a siégé à de nombreux comités et conseils scientifiques et consultatifs, notamment le conseil consultatif de l'Institut des services et des politiques de la santé des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le conseil scientifique de l'Institut de recherche en santé et en sécurité du travail du Québec, le conseil scientifique de la Mutuelle générale de l'éducation nationale (France) et le comité consultatif régional-Québec du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Le Dr Boivin est médecin (Université Laval, Québec, 1973) et il détient un doctorat en épidémiologie (Université Harvard, 1981). Il est aussi spécialiste en médecine communautaire (Université de Montréal, 1990).

Le Dr Boivin siège au conseil d'administration du CCDUS ​depuis 2009 et occupe les fonctions de trésorier. Il préside aussi le comité des finances et est membre du comité exécutif.​​

​Lesley Carberry (Yukon)

Lesley Carberry

Lesley Carberry (à la retraite) partage son temps entre ses fils adultes atteints d’exposition prénatale à l’alcool, son bénévolat dans la communauté et l’exploitation d’une petite entreprise d’experte-conseil travaillant dans les domaines de planification stratégique, de gouvernance et de formation. Elle est secrétaire-trésorière de la Société Teegatha’Oh Zheh, parent membre du Fetal Alcohol 10-Year Strategic Planning Group et membre de nombreuses organisations communautaires.

Son expérience d’experte-conseil et dans divers postes au ministère de la Justice du gouvernement du Yukon s’échelonne sur plus de quatre décennies. Reconnue pour son travail dans les pratiques réparatrices, l’animation et la résolution de conflits, elle a dirigé diverses initiatives de services aux victimes, justice communautaire, prévention du crime et maintien de l’ordre avec un intérêt particulier pour les Premières Nations et les communautés rurales.

Elle a reçu de nombreux prix distingués de rendement du ministère de la Justice du Yukon, ainsi que le Prix d’excellence du premier ministre, et on l’a honorée du Prix du jubilé de diamant de la Reine en 2012. Mme Carberry a terminé les cours nécessaires à l’obtention d’une maîtrise en travail social (Université de Northern British Columbia) et détient un baccalauréat en travail social (Université de Regina) et un baccalauréat ès arts (Université du Manitoba). Elle travaille maintenant à obtenir un certifica​t d’études supérieures en pratiques réparatrices de la International Institute for Restorative Practices.

Mme Carberry s’est jointe au Conseil en janvier 2017 et siège au Comité des finances.​

L​inda Dabros (Ontario)

Linda Dabros

Linda Dabros compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience en planification stratégique, élaboration de politiques et de règlements, gestion des ressources humaines et financières et consultations plurisectorielles au sein du secteur public dans le cadre de comités fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux et de délégations internationales.

En tant que directrice générale à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP), Mme Dabros a fixé les objectifs stratégiques et assuré la gestion des programmes de recherche, d’élaboration de politiques et internationaux, dirigeant une équipe chargée de préparer des rapports au Parlement et des soumissions aux organes de suivi des Nations Unies. Ses priorités étaient d’aborder les enjeux auxquels font face les peuples autochtones et d’inciter les intervenants à s’engager aux niveaux national et communautaire.

Avant la CCDP, Mme Dabros a occupé des postes de direction à Santé Canada (Stratégie nationale antigrogue), au Centre national de prévention du crime (recherche, consultations et élaboration de politiques en collaboration avec les gouvernements fédéral, povinciaux et territoriaux, le milieu universitaire et des ONG) et au Bureau du Conseil privé. Mme Dabros est bénévole au comité de gestion d’Arteast, organisme à but non lucratif de promotion des arts visuels dans l’Est de l’Ontario). Elle possède un baccalauréat ès arts (psychologie) de l’Université Carleton.

Mme Dabros s’est jointe au Conseil en janvier 2017 et siège au Comité de gouvernance et de mise en candidature.​​​

​Deborah Dumoulin,​ CPA, ​CA​ (Québec)

Deborah Dumoulin

Deborah Dumoulin est dirigeante d’entreprise et comptable professionnelle agréée. Mme Dumoulin compte plus de 18 années d’expérience de la vérification et de l’assurance chez PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada, tout récemment à titre de partenaire, Vérification et assurance, à la tête d’un portefeuille de clients des secteurs public et privé des bureaux de Montréal. Elle possède une expérience acquise au sein de diverses industries et du secteur public, y compris dans les secteurs des services financiers, de la technologie, de la fabrication et au sein d’organismes à but non lucratif et gouvernementaux. Elle possède aussi une vaste expérience de la comptabilité, de la reddition de comptes et des pratiques gouvernementales et de gestion du risque. Mme Dumoulin offre actuellement des services d’experte-conseil en gestion à une institution financière canadienne.

Mme Dumoulin croit fermement qu’il faut rendre à sa communauté ce qu’elle nous a donné et s’intéresse vivement aux questions sociales. Elle est membre active du Comité consultatif du Québec pour l’Armée du Salut et du Conseil québécois des Guides du Canada. Elle a fait des présentations lors de nombreuses conférences professionnelles. Elle a dirigé plusieurs femmes dans le cadre d’initiatives de leadership, coprésidé des campagnes de financement et participé à des activités bénévoles visant à autonomiser et lier les membres des communautés pour leur permettre d’y faire une différence.

Mme Dumoulin est membre de l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec et de l’Institut des comptables professionnels agréés de l’Ontario. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce (spécialisation en comptabilité) de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Mme Dumoulin est membre du Conseil d’administration depuis 2015 et siège au Comité des finances.​​​

Audrey McFarlane (Alberta)

Audrey McFarlane

Audrey McFarlane est l’une des fondatrices et la directrice générale du Lakeland Centre for Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder à Cold Lake en Alberta, un organisme qui étudie les questions liées à l’ensemble des troubles causés par l’alcoolisation fœtale (ETCAF). Elle est aussi présidente du conseil d’administration du Réseau de recherche CanFASD, qui réunit des chercheurs, des fournisseurs de services, des gouvernements et des familles de tout le pays.

Mme McFarlane est titulaire d’un diplôme en réadaptation communautaire et a consacré les 20 dernières années à travailler auprès d’enfants et d’adultes avec des troubles de développement ainsi qu’à offrir de la formation sur l’ETCAF. Elle a mis sur pied la première clinique au Canada de diagnostic et d’évaluation de l’ETCAF chez les adultes, le premier programme et manuel de formation à l’intention des cliniques canadiennes d’évaluation diagnostique de l’ETCAF, et le seul programme de traitement en établissement de la toxicomanie pour les femmes enceintes de l’Alberta.

Les responsabilités de Mme McFarlane au centre Lakeland l’ont notamment amenée à élaborer un modèle communautaire rural pour le diagnostic de l’ETCAF chez les enfants et les adultes, un modèle de mentorat en milieu rural pour les femmes à haut risque, et des modèles de pratique exemplaire pour travailler avec des familles touchées par l’ETCAF. Ses travaux de recherche ont été publiés dans le Journal canadien de pharmacologie clinique et le Journal canadien de la médecine rurale.

Tous les ordres de gouvernement ont reconnu que les modèles de prestation de services en milieu rural pour les personnes touchées par l’ETCAF et leur famille qu’ont élaborés Mme McFarlane et le centre Lakeland constituaient des pratiques exemplaires.

Mme McFarlane siège au conseil depuis 2014, ainsi qu’au comité de gouvernance et de mise ​en candidature et au comité des finances.

Michael Prospero, B.Ed, M.A. (Ontario)

Michael Prospero

Michael Prospero est l'ancien surintendant de la commission scolaire catholique Dufferin-Peel. Dans ses fonctions, il devait notamment faire profiter seize écoles primaires et trois écoles secondaires d'un leadership novateur et d'une administration efficace. Il était aussi chargé du programme Écoles sécuritaires, d'un programme de santé et de sécurité, et de l'éducation spécialisée.

Avant sa retraite en 2010, M. Prospero a œuvré dans le domaine de l'éducation pendant 34 ans en tant qu'enseignant, directeur adjoint, directeur et surintendant. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université de Toronto, d'un baccalauréat en éducation de l'Université York et d'une maîtrise en éducation de l'Université Niagara.

M. Prospero siège au conseil d'administration du CCDUS depuis 2009, préside le comité de vérification, et est membre du comité exécutif ainsi que du comité de gouvernance et de mise en candidature.

Paula Tyler (Alberta)​

Paula Tyler

Paula Tyler a une longue et fructueuse carrière dans le domaine des services à la personne. Elle a quitté la présidence de la Fondation Norlien en 2014. Elle était auparavant vice-présidente des Services cliniques spécialisés et de santé pour femmes et enfants de la région sanitaire de Calgary​. Avant d'occuper ce poste, elle était vice-présidente et première dirigeante, Santé mentale, à Capital Health, Edmonton (Alberta). Elle a occupé plusieurs autres fonctions professionnelles, dont directrice générale des Services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille pour le gouvernement néo-zélandais et sous-ministre aux Services à l'enfance de l'Alberta. Mme Tyler a aussi occupé plusieurs postes de cadre supérieur dans l'administration albertaine, dont sous-commissaire aux Services à l'enfance et sous-ministre adjointe pour les Services sociaux et à la famille de l'Alberta. Elle fait aussi beaucoup de bénévolat dans sa communauté; elle siège au conseil d'administration du YMCA de Calgary et a occupé de nombreux postes bénévoles de haut niveau à l'échelle locale, provinciale et nationale dans le secteur des invalidités.

Mme Tyler siège au conseil d'administration du CCDUS depuis 2009, dont elle est la vice-présidente, elle préside le comité de gouvernance et de mise en candidature et est membre du comité exécutif.


Membres du conseil nommés d'office

Rita Notarandrea, M.Sc.S., C.H.E.

Rita Notarandrea

Rita Notarandrea a été nommée première dirigeante du Centre canadien sur les dépendances et l'usage de substances (CCDUS) par le gouverneur en conseil le 28 juillet 2015. Mme Notarandrea travaille avec tous les ordres de gouvernement ainsi qu'avec les secteurs privé et à but non lucratif pour faire en sorte que les dépendances soient reconnues comme une question de santé, qu'elles restent une priorité nationale et que des efforts collectifs soient déployés pour réduire les méfaits liés à l'alcool et à la drogue sur la santé des Canadiens.

Avant d'être nommée première dirigeante, Mme Notarandrea a occupé ce poste de façon intérimaire pendant dix mois et celui de première dirigeante adjointe pendant huit ans, poste dans lequel elle était responsable du fonctionnement général de l'organisme, à savoir fixer des objectifs stratégiques et opérationnels et s'assurer que le CCDUS demeurait sensible aux tendances du milieu et qu'il disposait des stratégies et processus nécessaires pour réaliser la mission et la vision de l'organisme et en évaluer le rendement et les accomplissements.

Sous la direction de Mme Notarandrea, le CCDUS a mené de nombreuses initiatives nationales inédites, dont un plan d'action global sur l'usage problématique de substances. Pendant son mandat, le CCDUS a élaboré des stratégies nationales pour atténuer les méfaits de l'alcool, perfectionner les intervenants du domaine et prévenir la toxicomanie chez les jeunes. Ces stratégies proposent de nouvelles façons de penser et de collaborer pour obtenir des résultats concrets et pratiques pour les Canadiens, en utilisant des mesures collectives pour avoir des retombées collectives.

Avant de se joindre au CCDUS, Mme Notarandrea avait acquis plus de 22 ans d'expérience en leadership dans le secteur des soins de santé. Elle a occupé de nombreux postes de direction au sein d'importants organismes de services de santé, dont celui de chef des opérations à l'Hôpital Royal Ottawa, établissement psychiatrique de 207 lits. Spécialiste de la mise en œuvre de stratégies, elle doit ses réalisations dans ce domaine au rôle de chef de file qu'elle a joué dans des approches d'avant-garde comme la création et la mise en place d'un établissement novateur de soins de longue durée s'adressant expressément aux personnes ayant des troubles de santé mentale, le réaménagement de l'hôpital grâce à un partenariat public-privé et l'élaboration de nouveaux programmes et services relatifs à une vision renouvelée pour l'hôpital.

À l'heure actuelle, Mme Notarandrea siège à divers groupes, dont le comité technique sur la santé mentale et les dépendances de l'Organisation de normes en santé, le Groupe de personnes-ressources du greffier du Conseil privé sur la santé mentale et le comité d'experts chargé d'appliquer les normes internationales relatives au traitement des troubles liés à la consommation de drogues de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Elle détient un baccalauréat spécialisé en psychologie de l'Université Carleton et une maîtrise en sciences de la santé de l'Université de Toronto. Elle est également une cadre supérieure en santé (C.H.E.) certifiée par le Collège canadien des leaders en santé.

Simon Kennedy​

Simon Kennedy est sous-ministre, Santé Canada.

Malcolm Brown

Malcolm Brown est sous-ministre, Sécurité publique Canada.